Awards Instituted

Shri Devi Singh Tyagi

IETE - Shri Devi Singh Tyagi Memorial Award

The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) is a leading professional society devoted to the advancement of Science & Technology in Electronics, Telecommunications, Information Technology, Computer Science and other related disciplines. IETE recognises the outstanding contributions made by scientists and engineers through its coveted annual / biennial awards, in various fields within the domain of IETE. These awards are presented during the Annual IETE Convention (AIC) held every year in the month of September.

Shri Devi Singh Tyagi Memorial Award has been instituted by Dr R K Tyagi, Former Chairman, Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd, in the memory of his late father, Shri Devi Singh Tyagi. The award is given to an eligible Technocrat/Scientist/Engineer/Academician for his/her outstanding contribution in the field of Avionics / Defence Electronics, resulting in strategic/commercial advantage towards the national objective of "Make in India". The award consists of a citation, a medal and a plaque. The recipient is invited to deliver a lecture based on the work leading to the award at a suitable function at an IETE

The recipients of the award in the previous years are:

  • Ms T S Padma Priya, HAL(2016)
  • Dr Jayakumar M, ISRO, (2017)
  • Shri Amit Tiwari, BEL(2018)
  • Shri P Balasubramania,DRDO (2019)
  • Shri Ajay Khare, HAL(2020).
  • jointly shared by Prof(Dr) Janakrajan Ramkumar, IIT Kanpur and Shri Prikshat Sharma, DGM, HAL Bengaluru(2021)
  • Shri Kishore Dutt Atluri, President, Zen Technologies Ltd, Hyderabad (2022)

The 8th IETE - Shri Devi Singh Tyagi Memorial Award of 2023 goes to Lt Col Gulshan Mehta, Indian Army, Simulator Development Division, Secunderabad, Telangana



In memory of a beloved father and truly exemplary visionary, Shri SUBHASH CHANDRA TYAGI MCM SCHOLARSHIP was established today (6th October 2020) by his eldest daughter Mrs Priti Tyagi (W/o Dr. RK Tyagi, Former Chairman HAL), at the civil engineering department of IIT Roorkee. Shri SC Tyagi graduated from IITR in the year 1953; a civil engineer of national repute, rose to the position of CHIEF ENGINEER UP,PWD – a true source of inspiration for many of us.

The MOU was signed between Mrs PRITI TYAGI and Director of IITR, Shri AK CHATURVEDI in witness and blessing of Shri PARITOSH CHANDRA TYAGI, a graduate of IITR of the same year (1953), former chairman - Central Pollution Control Board and an active contributor on national environmental issues.

The scholarship is awarded each year to the most deserving student in the field of civil engineering at IIT Roorkee from the year 2020 onwards.